A Coming Love

Today is the first Valentines Day in my whole life that I won’t receive a Valentine from my (grandmother) Nanner. Do you keep your valentines? I think I’ve kept every one she ever gave me.

My Nanner died last week. It was alright. We had all said everything we wanted to ever say and spent so much time together, that we have No Regrets. My heart is so thankful that I had 34 years to laugh & love with my wonderful grandmother.

Last week, Nanner had to do what all of us must do, she had to throw off everything that hinders. And in the end, that required throwing off her mortal body.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. “ Hebrews 12:1-2

What do you need to “throw off” today? Let us fix our eyes on The Perfecter. We do get perfection. WE get PERFECTION. Can you comprehend that? WE get it. Because WE GET CHRIST. I think that’s awesome.

So, last week, my Nanner finally through off the “tent” she was living in & received Christ himself. I WANTED that for her. It was so much better for her to go!

“Now we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands. Meanwhile we groan, longing to be clothed with our heavenly dwelling, because when we are clothed, we will not be found naked. For while we are in this tent, we groan and are burdened, because we do not wish to be unclothed but to be clothed with our heavenly dwelling, so that what is mortal may be swallowed up by life. Now it is God who has made us for this very purpose and has given us the Spirit as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.

Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. We live by faith, not by sight. We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord. So we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it. For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.” 2 Corinthians 5:1-10

The death of my grandmother increased my awareness that everything on earth is under a curse. It’s not “natural” for people to age, to die. Death is the biggest reminder of the weight of sin. 

My father preached her incredible funeral based on the worship described in Revelation. A good funeral always reminds me of the Christmas song, “Joy To the World,” “He comes to make His blessings flow, far as the curse is found, far as the curse is found, far as, far as the curse is found!” 

A curse brought us together last week, but a covenant far greater will keep us together forever. 

Our salvation is not dependent on our prayers or our “good” life. It lies squarely on the shoulders of our Lord Jesus Christ. He alone bought it. He alone can bear it. He is the author & finisher of our faith. 

This Valentines day Nanner will, for her first Valentines day ever, truly comprehend PERFECT LOVE.

She has joined the great throng of worshipers singing loudly.

“Then I looked, and I heard around the throne and the living creatures and the elders the voice of many angels, numbering myriads of myriads and thousands of thousands, saying with a loud voice, “Worthy is the Lamb who was slain, to receive power and wealth and wisdom and might and honor and glory and blessing!” And I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and in the sea, and all that is in them, saying, “To him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be blessing and honor and glory and might forever and ever!” Revelation 5:11-13

Don’t you want a Valentines Day in the midst of True Love? It is the great & coming Love. Share it. No regrets. (Picture of my grandmother’s roses)

Now let’s go change the world.

Professional Life Coach, Jenny Fox Shain, M.A.

Life Coach to Creative Youth & Young Adults

Get coaching to live your dreams! Contact me.

All photography & art by Jenny Shain. Photo orders processed within one week.

See my other sites…

Get started today! Life Coaching info RedeemingDreams.com

Let’s chat on FACEBOOKwww.facebook.com/LifeCoachJenny

(Artistic) PummeledByAdoringFans.wordpress.com/

Follow me on TWITTER Jenny_Shain

& LinkedIn

published on https://lifecoachjenny.wordpress.com

About LifeCoach

I love Life Coaching, Creating, Re-purposing, & I love photography - people actually pay me to do this! :) Check out http://RedeemingyourDreams.com/
This entry was posted in Eternity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Coming Love

  1. Melissa Willis says:

    Beautiful Jenny. Thanks for the reminder of what we have to look forward to!

  2. Shaintiques says:

    As I stood at the graveside and heard your father speak of the life of nanner, and as I considered who she was I came to the realization that your conection with her runs deeper than blood.  What I mean by that is though I haven’t been in the midst of her life for long years I have gotten to experience who she was, for though your father spoke of Nanner, he could just as well have been speaking of you.  She was thoughtful always remembering birthday and anniversaries.  And you thoughtfully do that as well always being sure to call.  She wrote you valentines yes, and letters too, sometimes just sharing about the weather or what was happening there.  In the modern world of phones and internet that is for the moment she gave you something to treasure, to last, something personal and intimate.  You have a file of those treasures.  And I have a file of treasures too, little things that you have made for me, I often sit and look through them, thinking of the time and thought behind each one.  I think often of the sign that you made me when I lived in Ukraine that said that you loved me.  I put it on the wall and it was the first thing that I saw in the morning.  So each day I went out repeating, “she loves me” in my heart and knew that with your love I could face anything.  Nanner and Gene are special.  From the first moment we met I felt welcome, but more than that I felt as a part of your family.  I felt welcomed and loved just as I experience with my own family.  As I stood there looking upon your family I was struck by how much I love these people that have taken the time to love me.  How much I loved your Nanner and how much I love you.  

    You are my heart, my friend, my treasure.  Nanner had a child like spirit to match yours and as I stood beside the grave and listened to your dad talk about her before the throne of Grace, I could see it, and I could see her marveling at what she beheld.  And I could see you one day standing with her there marveling with her, and I worshipped the Lord for your family and what Christ has done through them, letting us all come and stand together before his throne one day.  I don’t know that I have ever experienced a funeral so sweet and worshipful, and though some tears were cried in earthly loss, many more were cried in worship to the King, who saved each and every one of us and allows us into his presence and makes us new.  It was a moment to grasp just how deep and wide and long is the love of Christ.  And I have gotten to experience that love all the more deeper and wider and longer through your family, through your Nanner, and through you.  To love someone is to see the face of God, and I get to see him everyday as I love you and am loved by you.  Thank you sweet one for your love, Happy Valentines Day!

Leave a comment